Calgary Student Committee

Our Student Committee is comprised of lawyers at the Firm who are involved in creating and developing a comprehensive professional development program, planning and executing social events, and fostering a culture of learning. The Student Committee also acts as a resource for students if they have any concerns or issues.

The Student Committee is responsible for recruitment, development and evaluation of all students hired in the Calgary office.

Below is a list of the Student Committee members and their contact information:

2021 Summer Students

Blakes is pleased to announce that the following 2021 Summer Students will be joining the Firm in May 2021:

Name Law School
Lauren Carson University of Calgary
Nicolas Huertas University of British Columbia
Michelle Liu University of Ottawa
Anthony Lyons University of Alberta
Rayleigh Minhyu Lee University of Alberta
Jordan Prestie University of Alberta
Robeah Saee University of Saskatchewan
Michael Stuart University of Alberta
Mercer Timmis University of Calgary

2020-2021 Articling Students

Blakes is pleased to announce that the following 2020/2021 Articling Students joined the Firm in 2020:

Name Law School
Austin Beck University of Calgary 
Cass Bruni University of Calgary 
Rebecca Burnand University of Saskatchewan 
Mackenzie Comand University of Leicester 
Kailey Hubele University of Alberta 
Fauziya Issa University of Victoria 
Abbey Kind University of Calgary 
Bryan Li Queen’s University 
Spencer Loughlin University of Calgary 
Jessica Pushka University of Manitoba
Olivia Salkeld University of Calgary
Matthew Santillo University of Calgary
Stephanie Symonds University of Victoria

2021-2022 Articling Students

Blakes is pleased to announce that the following 2021/2022 Articling Students will be joining the Firm in 2021:

Name Law School
Luke Bendkowski University of Manitoba
Madeleine Chauvet University of Saskatchewan
Andrea Djurkovic University of British Columbia
Jordan Handel University of Saskatchewan
Peter Howorun University of Calgary
Jae Jang Osgoode Hall
Jess MacKinnon University of Calgary
Cole Ollis University of Calgary
Sherry Rath University of British Columbia
Karen Rooney  University of Saskatchewan
Jacob Roth University of Alberta
Alexa Rudakoff University of Toronto
Palmer Scott University of Calgary
Casey Stiemer Dalhousie University
Connor Vaandering University of Alberta
Carly Williams Queen’s University

2022-2023 Articling Students

Blakes is pleased to announce that the following 2022/2023 Articling Students will be joining the Firm in 2022:

NameLaw School
Branden CaveUniversity of Toronto
Lauren CarsenUniversity of Calgary
Victoria ChiuUniversity of Alberta
Mitchell FolkUniversity of Calgary
Ryley HarriganUniversity of Calgary
Nicolas HuertasUniversity of Calgary
Chris KimUniversity of Saskatchewan
Anthony LyonsUniversity of Alberta
Rayleigh Minhyu LeeUniversity of Alberta
Saeid Rafieian KoupaeiUniversity of British Columbia
Kirsten RoggeveenUniversity of Toronto